Showing posts with label Car. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Car. Show all posts

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Car Break in Moscow

Moscow can be dangerous is different ways, which i experienced as break of my car glass for robbery of navigator this week. Before this happened, i was not thinking much about such things can happen to me and believing my house's region is secure.

At the day of event, after coming from work I couldn't find any free parking place and cannot as usual park my car to the front part of the apartment. So i turned to back of the apartments which i was not preferring because of dark and calmness of the place; but there was not much other choice. In the morning like 11 i looked from the window and saw there was a paper on my cars front glass. I thought it was an advertisement, but there was no on other cars. Some bad ideas came to my mind but car was there and looking normal. After 3-4 hours later I get out and saw the polices telephone was written; then saw the right glass of my car was broken. I had made a big mistake and left my navigator in a seen place. It was stoled. But they didnt took the sun glasses and parfumes or others document in the car. I called police, and then the procedures and time taking steps took place.

Of course such thing happens in many big cities, and now i understand my people specially pay for secured parking places. The lessons from this in Moscow:

1) Dont leave any thing seenable at car such as navigator, box, coat etc...
2) Dont leave the car in a dark or calm place.
3) Put a small lighting unreal alarm or real alarm which my maybe afraid robbers.
4) Buy your car from an offical agent of the car brad(mine is major moscow, thanks) which may do the repairement in fast and organized way in such necessary cases.

Monday, December 1, 2008

How to buy a car in Russia as a foreigner?


As a foreigner, most of us are usually afraid to do new things which we don`t know, such as buying a car. We are mostly afraid of the diplomatical and procedural things. Instead, it is not such a hard thing and i can say that it is even easy after buyig it.

Firstly you have to decide which car to buy, as well as deciding buying a brand new car or used one. I would offer to buy a new car beacuse there is not much price difference. You should buy from the offical sellers in the city. The others sellers are mostly more expensive and they dont give a trustfull image to you. You have to give an order 3-4 months before to get the car with your specifications. or you can buy the car waiting in the saloon which will not fully satisfy or be over your expectations.

For foreigners there is a different place for car registrations. It is located near Tsaritsno Metro. To do prodecural thing you can find somebody(some Turks working in Moscow long time as driver for example) who would help you in such things with some money. Also in this process, payoff to some people is needed to get your things fastly done.

While driving car you have to carry 4 documents with you.
1) The translation of your driving license in Russian and the original driving license.
2) The OSAGO document, which is the govermental insurance of the car.
3) The registration document of the car to your name.
4) Ownership document of the car.

Also you may carry the private insurance document with you.

Buying car and registering is the only two steps firstly to buy a car. If you have money and will to have a car, i would offer you to buy a car and not to wait for it. Your life really changes in moscow after having a car...